Honor Band Festival

District 833 students participate in Minnesota Band Directors Association Honor Band Festival
Posted on 05/14/2019
Elementary band students in a group photoSouth Washington County Schools elementary and middle school students participated in the Southeast Region Minnesota Band Directors Association Honor Band Festival on Saturday, May 11. The festival, which features first and second-year musicians, brings top students from across the region together to rehearse and perform a concert of challenging music all in the same day. Outstanding guest conductors work with the students to prepare for the performance.

The 43 participating students from District 833 were nominated by their directors and selected by festival organizers. Below are the names of the student-musicians that performed at the festival:

First Year Honor Band

Cottage Grove Elementary School: Julia Bednar (baritone), Brandon Bihm (clarinet), Emily Cole (bassoon), Peyton Faber (trumpet), Riley Hall (trombone), Miley Longie (tenor saxophone), Keydrick Thao (alto saxophone), Mikaela Yang (flute)
Middleton Elementary School: Blake Anderson (trombone), Nolan Andresen (trumpet), Carmen Andruet (bassoon), Zoe Drum (french horn), Khylee Harris (clarinet), Aiden Huseboe (trumpet), Natalie Koehnen (alto saxophone), Zachary Krengel (flute)
Pine Hill Elementary School: Elise Cleary (French horn), Fisher Engberg (tuba), Lukas Maki (percussion), Kate Redmond (flute), Caleb Sweet (trumpet), Chinedu Ugwu (alto saxophone), Jonathan Wagner (tenor saxophone), Jesse Wright (baritone)
Pullman Elementary School: Michael Chilton (percussion), Savana Lambright (bass clarinet)
Newport Elementary School: Samantha Elling (clarinet), Nina Karas (clarinet), Megan Lara-Betancourt (trumpet), Samir Lawrence (alto saxophone)
Valley Crossing Elementary School: Ketaki Jorapurkar (percussion), Alvin Li (percussion), Will MacDonald (trumpet), Hubert Nguyeh (tuba), Andie Ortloff (oboe), Chloe Pendergrass (bass clarinet)

Second Year Honor Band

Valley Crossing Elementary School: Will Coulter (percussion), Alex Wang (clarinet), Chris Wang (clarinet)
Woodbury Middle School: Maelynn Barnholt (oboe), Amalie Bethke (alto sax), Naiarah Falcon (flute), Nathan Larsen (trombone), Maya Potvin (French horn), Olivi Lukrafka Varassin (alto sax)

Congratulations to these talented students!