7 hometowns24 Caring Schools2500+ Supportive Staff Members18,400+ Talented Students92% Graduation Rate 

Quick Links


South Washington County Schools is a suburban district located southeast of St. Paul, Minnesota. The district includes all or parts of the communities of Cottage Grove, Newport, St. Paul Park, Woodbury, as well as, Afton, Denmark and Grey Cloud Island Townships. District 833 is committed to the mission of "igniting a passion for lifelong learning" through collaboration, continuous improvement, equity, integrity and relationships.

We have 16 elementary schools for students in grades K-5, four middle schools serving grades 6-8, three comprehensive high schools and one alternative high school. There are also a variety of early learning and adult education and enrichment programs offered through Community Education.

Tyrone Brookins
Tyrone Brookins Hired as New Assistant Superintendent for Academic Excellence and Accountability
Please join me in welcoming Tyrone Brookins as Assistant Superintendent for Academic Excellence and Accountability.
Read More
district logo
Three Scenarios Considered for Minnesota Schools This Fall
The Minnesota Department of Education released guidance for school districts to create plans based on three scenarios for fall 2020. Because we don’t know which scenario the state will choose, it’s important for parents to prepare for all three possibilities.
Read More
Kari Lopez
Kari Lopez nominated for NASSP National Principal of the Year
In February the Minnesota Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP) named Kari Lopez, principal of Woodbury Middle School, Minnesota Middle Level Principal of the Year. They recently selected Lopez as the Minnesota representative at the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP), which makes her a nominee for the NASSP National Principal of the Year.
Read More