Skip To Main Content

Three SoWashCo Schools Teachers Named Semi-finalists for Minnesota Teacher of the Year

MN Teacher of the Year Semifinalists 2022

Three SoWashCo Schools teachers are moving forward as part of a group of 25 finalists for the 2022 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

  • MacKenzie Hildahl, English/Language Arts teacher at East Ridge High School
  • Younna Eiden-Giel, Social Studies teacher at Park High School
  • Andrea Welvaert, Autism Spectrum Disorder/Center-based Program teacher at Cottage Grove Middle School

The 25 semi-finalists were selected from a group of 77 nominees. A selection committee will now review the semifinalists’ portfolios and review semifinalist video submissions this month and narrow the field down to about 10 finalists.The winner of 2022 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced May 1 at the annual Minnesota Teacher of the Year Banquet.

Congratulations to MacKenzie, Younna and Andrea. Thank you for playing such an important role in our students’ lives.