Skip To Main Content

Statewide MCA/MTAS Testing Begins This Spring

Statewide MCA/MTAS Testing Begins This Spring

Students in grades 3-8, 10 and 11 will soon begin taking the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCA). Students who receive special education services and meet eligibility criteria may take the Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS) test as an alternative. 

Participation in MCA/MTAS testing is important so that we have accurate data to assess if students are meeting academic standards and determine where instruction could be improved.

Please see the 2023-24 District Assessment Calendar for testing dates at each school. We recognize that the MCA/MTAS testing window overlaps with a number of religious observances and holy days. SoWashCo Schools is committed to honoring and being responsive to the needs of all families and students. 

Please contact your child’s school if you have concerns or questions about school testing dates and times, needing accommodations and/or your student’s participation in MCA/MTAS testing. 

For more information about the purpose and uses of the MCA/MTAS, please visit the Assessment and Grading website


View Assessment Calendar


Learn About MCA/MTAS