South Washington County Schools

2017 School Board Election

The District 833 School Board has five seats open for election on Tuesday, Nov. 7. Board members Tracy Brunnette, Katy McElwee-Stevens, Katie Schwartz and Sharon Van Leer currently fill these seats. Another seat is vacant and will have a two-year term that will begin immediately following the Nov. 7 Election and run through December 2019. 

Filings received as of the 5 p.m. deadline on Tuesday, Aug. 15, include ten candidates for the four four-year terms and five candidates for the two-year term.

Filing for election to the four-year seats are incumbents Tracy Brunnette (Cottage Grove), Katy McElwee-Stevens (Newport), Katie Schwartz (St. Paul Park) and Sharon Van Leer (Woodbury), along with Patricia Driscoll (Cottage Grove), Thor Halverson (Woodbury), Alexandra Hedberg (Woodbury), Douglas Hoffman (Woodbury), David Pyrz (Woodbury) and William Thurmes (Cottage Grove).  

Filing for the two-year seat are Wael Abdelkader (Woodbury), Sean Brown (Woodbury), Duane Girard (Newport), Heather Hirsch (Cottage Grove) and Steve Lagoon (Cottage Grove).

A School Board Candidate Forum, sponsored by the local chapter of the League of Women Voters, was held on Tuesday, Sept. 26 at 7 p.m. at the District Service Center (7362 E. Pt. Douglas Rd. S., Cottage Grove).

The South Washington County Telecommunications Commission has short videos with each of the candidates available online. See the videos for the candidates for the four-year seats here and the videos for the candidates for the two-year seat here.