South Washington County Schools

Twelve District 833 seniors named Semifinalists in 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program

Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names this week of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program, including 12 seniors from South Washington County Schools. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $33 million that will be offered next spring.

The six National Merit Semifinalists from East Ridge High School are Cheema Angad, Subbarao Garlapati, Ashley Holton, Molly Kammann, Luke Landin and Alexander Yang.

The two semifinalists from Park High School are Victoria Grosse and Noah Susag.

The four National Merit Semifinalists from Woodbury High School are Sam Crosby-Schmidt, Kamilah Gobran, Ethan Lee and Hughdan Liu.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

From the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level, and will be notified of this designation in February. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of Finalists. National Merit Scholarship winners of 2018 will be announced beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join more than 323,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.