South Washington County Schools

Seven District 833 seniors selected as candidates for 2018 Presidential Scholars Program

District 833 is pleased to announce that seven students have been named as candidates for the United States Presidential Scholars Program. This program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors. In 1979, it was expanded to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts.

Ashley Holton from East Ridge, Noah Susag from Park High School, and Kamilah Gobran, Alison Hofelman, Ethan Lee, David Li and Hughdan Liu from Woodbury High School have all been named as candidates for the Presidential Scholars Program.

Of the 4,500 graduating seniors throughout the country that have been selected as candidates, approximately 800 will be named semifinalists later this spring. Up to 161 students will then be chosen to become U.S. Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students. Students selected as scholars will be announced in May.

Scholars are chosen on the basis of their accomplishments in many areas, including academic and artistic success, leadership, and involvement in school and the community. They are invited to Washington, D.C. in June to participate in the National Recognition Program, featuring events and activities and culminating in the presentation of the Presidential Scholars Medallion during a White House-sponsored ceremony.