South Washington County Schools

Eight District 833 teachers named as Minnesota Teacher of the Year candidates

Eight of the 168 candidates for the 55th Annual Minnesota Teacher of the Year Award teach at South Washington County Schools. These candidates have accepted their nominations and completed the required materials to become eligible for the honor.

The candidates from District 833 are:

  • Scott Alton, first and second-grade teacher at Pine Hill Elementary School
  • Linnea Balderrama, English language learning teacher at Grey Cloud Elementary School
  • Karen Buckeye, special education teacher at Park High School
  • Linnea Gamache, reading specialist at Cottage Grove Elementary School
  • Tark Katzenmeyer, band director at Woodbury High School
  • Andrea Kleoppel, social studies teacher at Oltman Middle School
  • Anna Ohlsen, early childhood special education teacher at South Washington County Schools
  • Kaarin Schumacher, biology teacher at Woodbury High School

“We are honored that so many of our teachers from South Washington County Schools are being recognized for the outstanding work they do in our classrooms every day,” said Julie Nielsen, Assistant Superintendent. “We are grateful to have such high-quality teachers in our system who care so deeply about our students and their profession.”

The 2019 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 5, at the Saint Paul RiverCentre. The program is organized and underwritten by Education Minnesota, with support from Education Minnesota ESI, Educators Lifetime Solutions, EFS Advisors, Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, McDonald’s Restaurants of Minnesota, SMART Technologies and United Educators Credit Union.