South Washington County Schools

District 833 students participate in Minnesota Band Directors Association Honor Band Festival

South Washington County Schools elementary and middle school students participated in the Southeast Region Minnesota Band Directors Association Honor Band Festival on Saturday, May 5. The festival for first and second year musicians brings top students from across the region together to rehearse, participate in sectionals and perform a concert of challenging music all in the same day. Outstanding guest conductors work with the students to prepare for the performance. The 36 participating students from District 833 were nominated by their directors and selected by festival organizers.

Below are the names of the student-musicians that performed at the festival:

First Year Honor Band

  • Cottage Grove Elementary – Michael DeStasio (percussion), Charlotte Dinger (flute), Leah Franson (clarinet), Parker Jeseritz (baritone), Jenna McGowan (oboe), Joey Natterstad (trombone)
  • Middleton Elementary – Wyatt Case (alto saxophone), Iris Chen (flute), Emily Fox (flute), Sage Kiritschenko (trumpet), Riley Kuhn (trombone), Eli Miller (percussion), Lily Nelson (alto saxophone), Kaden Summers (clarinet)
  • Pine Hill Elementary – Theis Nelson (oboe), Emily Ponder (trombone), Kimberly Ponce Sanchez (trumpet), Owen Sell (bassoon)
  • Valley Crossing Elementary – William Ackley (trumpet), Ghazan Baloch (clarinet), Anne Benjamin (percussion), Aidan Lugo (oboe), Dane Paul (tuba), Blake Seelen (tuba), Biniam Tseigai (trombone), Cael Viesselman (trombone), Max Yu (alto saxophone)

Second Year Honor Band

  • Valley Crossing Elementary – Peyton Welsch (flute)
  • Woodbury Middle School – Andrew Amoah (flute), Caleb Doran (trumpet), Sara Peterson (clarinet), Matthew Rodemeyer (tuba), Owen Rodgers (trombone), Anna Roe (flute), Ellsa Sorenson-Wagner (percussion), Luke Spielman (percussion),

 Congratulations to these talented students!