South Washington County Schools

District News

Student safety is among the top priorities for District 833. While there have been recent concerns raised by the community, there have been no findings that have indicated that students are at any health risk of being exposed to lead, or that high levels of lead are present in the school water supply.

South Washington County Schools is one step closer to the opening of the new Oltman Middle School in the fall of 2018. The district will break ground on the new school on Wednesday, Oct. 5.

District 833 Director of Finance Dan Pyan and Ehlers Financial Advisor Jodie Zesbaugh presented positive financial information to the District 833 School Board at their meeting on Sept. 15.

Thirty eight students from South Washington County Schools have been named Commended Students in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program.

A Winter Pack Event will be held on Thursday, Nov. 17, from 6:30-8 p.m. at Red Rock Elementary School for community members to join together to assemble food packs that provide meals for students over winter break.

The first edition of District 833’s Together we are SoWashCo video series features Casey Tody, AVID coordinator and teacher at Lake Middle School.

Nearly 300 students and staff members from District 833 joined 18,000 students from more than 600 schools throughout Minnesota on Sept. 20 to participate in WE Day.

Community Education has strengthened an existing partnership through ACCESS Adult Basic Education programming with Washington County Workforce Center to include Bailey Nurseries as a partnering location.

The School Board met on Thursday, Sept. 15, with the following items on the agenda:

The seven National Merit Semifinalists from East Ridge High School are Kevin Bi, Anuraag Bukkuri, Hannah Eggert, Lauren Go, Shreya Narayan, Jaret Olderbak, and Alicia Zhang. The four National Merit Semifinalists from Woodbury High School are Andrew Bennett, Emily Koithan, Kelsey Moorhouse, and Felix Oh.


Subscribe to District News